Summer 2016 – Wolfeboro Wonderland

We had the pleasure of living on the shore of Rust Pond this summer while I worked as the Head of Girls’ Campus at Wolfeboro: The Summer Boarding School. Wolfeboro is a 6-week boarding school that prepares students for the upcoming year. Our goal is to facilitate the growth of students as they become stronger, more confident, and more independent students. Little did I know that I would also leave this summer feeling all of those things as well.

I learned so much about myself this summer – from how to manage and create a cohesive team (GC ladies – you rock!), how to hold the line with students while still being on their side, how to have hard conversations with both students and adults, the types of things that come easily to me, the types of things that are hard for me, and so much more. The quote that sums this summer up is, “If it doesn’t challenge you it doesn’t change you.” I was challenged every single day in one way or the other and I came out of it such a better person and educator (and exhausted).

This blog is mostly going to be pictures I snapped this summer. If you haven’t been to the lakes region of New Hampshire you should get on that.

Em and I lived in the Durfee Cottage behind the Girls’ Campus. Living on Pond Place Lane is pretty ideal in the summer.

IMG_0147

IMG_0170

Our cabin from the water

Below are pictures I took from our dock (shown in the picture above) over the course of the summer. I know they are a bit redundant but the view never got old and I appreciated it each and every time I was out there.
IMG_0443

IMG_0032

IMG_0363

 

IMG_0434

Firey Sunset

IMG_0368

 

IMG_0390

IMG_0319

IMG_0546

 

IMG_0271

Milo was not happy.

IMG_0543

 

IMG_0285

Now we move onto pictures of our porch – quite possibly my favorite place on earth.IMG_0316

IMG_0287

IMG_0556

 

IMG_0381

Taking in Hillary (and history) with my brother.

Now the Wolfeboro campus. No words needed.

IMG_0167

IMG_0357

IMG_0359

 

IMG_0378

IMG_0548

IMG_0535

IMG_0540

IMG_0554

Downtown Wolfeboro ain’t too shabby either.

IMG_0284

IMG_0160

And then there was this little guy. This Northern Water Snake blessed us with his presence for the first week of orientation. Then he left us alone.

IMG_0012

IMG_0045

Live free or die

IMG_0140

My dad is now a beekeeper

This summer was extra special because I got to work closely with two of my friends from my past life at Wolfeboro. Dan and I started as counselors together in 2006 and Lani joined the crew in 2008. After a 6 year hiatus on my part, the crew was back together. I learned so much from these two and feel so so so lucky to have spent the time with them.

IMG_0327

Escaping for a Dunkin Donuts run

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 6.34.04 PM.png

Campus Heads in the All-School Photo

IMG_0224

Happy dad, not so happy baby

IMG_0230

What a crew.

IMG_0188

 

Being in New England meant that we got to spend some time with friends and family. Costa Rica has been an incredible experience and I am looking forward to year 2. However, being far away from “our people” has been hard. Because of my job we weren’t very mobile but that didn’t stop people from making amazing efforts to come see us. Thank you to everyone who visited!

Mac and Meredith visited the weekend before their wedding which only seemed fitting since we spent the weekend before they got engaged together too. What cuties.

IMG_0279

IMG_0281

IMG_0345

IMG_0353

Some of the Colby bball crew was able to make it over for the day too (we missed you T!).

IMG_0397

IMG_0402

IMG_0426

Em and I were able to head down to Boston for the night to connect with some friends and family. Thanks to everyone who made the effort and joined us at Cambridge Common!

IMG_0304

“I promise I’m not eating chicken wings for the fourth night in a row.”

IMG_0305

 

IMG_0310

Cousins in Cambridge

IMG_0261

Celebrating my dad’s birthday

IMG_0214

Reunited

IMG_0158

Reunited 2.0

13690838_10154204770703046_2033996595061852644_n.jpg

My brother was able to make it home for a bit so we were able to get the whole crew together. This was even more special since it is the last time we will all be together before my dad joins the Peace Corp and heads to Ghana for the next 2.5 years. Proud of you, dad.

 

IMG_0454

IMG_0452

IMG_0453

IMG_0538

Oma reading at my uncle Andrew’s wedding

One of the hard parts of this summer was that Em was traveling a lot and when she was home my schedule was packed and unpredictable. Because of that we weren’t able to spend as much time together as we would have liked. With that being said, we were able to soak in some moments to be goofy, float on the lake, and celebrate all that we are.

IMG_0039

IMG_0233

No line at Bailey’s Bubble for the first time ever (it helps to go during the fireworks on the 4th)

We were also able to head back to Moody Mountain on our 3rd anniversary. It was great to go back to the scene of the crime and reflect on the last 3 years.

IMG_0460

IMG_0459

IMG_0463

IMG_0468

IMG_0487

Back to where we said our vows

IMG_0508

 

It only seemed fitting to finish off our anniversary with Thai food and champagne on, where else, our dock.

IMG_0512IMG_0513

Finally, I worked with a superb group of people this summer. My colleagues are some of the most fun, most dedicated, and most driven people I know. On Girls’ Campus, I was fortunate to work with 10 young women who are going to change the world. They were willing to learn, try new things, push themselves, put the kids first, and laugh, and laugh, and laugh – the perfect combination. I was inspired by their drive and by the way they gave 100% of themselves every single day.

IMG_0256

So much GC chalk love

IMG_0558

 

IMG_0560

My newest prized possession (it survived the trip back to Costa Rica)

IMG_0568.JPG

Our students are incredible (and know us well)

13735655_10154206017738046_2704514153459986709_o

Welcome to the Girls’ Campus

IMG_0246

Bring it on, wet grass.

IMG_0194

Teamwork makes the dream work

IMG_0360

Beginning of the session all-on team selfie

IMG_0576

You got this

IMG_0577

 

IMG_0584

GC Trio

Also, we performed this in a lip sync battle this summer. Huge shout out to the choreographers and stylists. It was rigged and we came in 2nd but we all can feel good knowing who the real winners were.

IMG_0572

Members of all 3 residential campuses

I left Wolfeboro the night of August 8th, flew back on August 9th, and just had my first day at CDS on August 10th. I have arrived back to Costa Rica humbled and exhausted – and I wouldn’t have it any other way. The summer can most accurately be summed up by the fact that I ugly cried for most of Monday as I said by to people and the place (but not in front of the kids, thank you very much).

Thank you to everyone who made this summer what it was. Now back to the Island Life (jk but 1/2 the people I talk to at home think Costa Rica is an island.)

K

Leave a Reply

